What I have for breakfast / Summer 2017

I’ve always had a bad habit of skipping breakfast. While being at university, I would rarely eat breakfast before lectures and that was down to a combination of reasons. The main reason is that I’m a nocturnal individual and I’d sleep very late (occasionally working on assignments, generally not) and end up not having enough time in the morning to make something to eat, and more importantly, I rarely feel hungry until about 2 hours after waking up so it was easier to eat after my morning lectures and it would end up being around 11 or 12.

I have come to accept that breakfast is the most important meal of the day and have decided to put more effort into ways I can get around skipping breakfast. Time is not an issue at the moment as I’ve just finished my degree and so I have plenty of time to have something to eat in the morning.

However, I still don’t feel very hungry when I wake up so I’ve started making breakfast smoothies which I love as I can have something healthy first thing in the morning, even if I don’t necessarily feel hungry, and have enough energy to start my day. I usually eat oats for breakfast when the weather is cooler, but in the summer, I add the sachets to my smoothies instead.

 

 

Here are the ingredients for the smoothie I made earlier this week:

  • 1 sachet of mixed berries oats (you can choose any)
  • 1 handful of mixed berries
  • 2 frozen bananas
  • Milk

IMG_0755

It is totally up to you how much fruit you add. This applies to the milk too; it depends on how thick you want the smoothie to be or not. Milk can also be replaced with fruit juice.

I’m basic (but brilliant) and my fruit of choice will always be a banana – they’re just so good! I use bananas in almost all my smoothies. The smoothie ended up colour coordinating with my daily devotion book which was cool.

IMG_0749

Leave a Reply

